naked capitalism - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu naked capitalism - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu

naked capitalism

Door: Thessa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Thessa

12 Januari 2009 | Nigeria, Suleja

"So you have no children?"
"No..."
"And you are not married?"
At this I become a little bit reluctant to continue the conversation,
but ok, here you go: "no".
"What?! And that at YOUR age?"
The discomfort grows...
I ask him timidly how old he thinks I am.
"Oh, 42".

Dammit. Way past my sell-by date and also roughly 12yrs older than I actually am. Must be because of my size, or because of the small lines carved in my face because of the sun? But it doesn't matter: my image is shattered. From an interesting oyibo I have been demoted to a sad, middle-aged woman who didn't manage to do the only 2 important things in a woman's life: get married and get children. And in my case something must REALLY be wrong with me, because, as a white person, I obviously have money to lure men with…

Relationships often surprise me here. Under the pretence of "love" people trade and transact. Bodies are traded for a recharge card, beauty for a new handbag. Nobody trusts each other, and rightfully so, it seems.

This is a society where it doesn't matter HOW you got your money, as long as you have it. Those communists who said that capitalism would lead to human degradation and abominations of various kinds, would be thrilled to see their nightmares come to life here. This possibly most religious country on the planet is a Sodom & Gomorrah where all is allowed -for money.

In 2 years Nigeria I've had my fair share of men, but I often think I'm cheap. Literally. Because I don't ask for or accept gifts as other women (must) do. It is hard to see that love is traded for money. And even harder to hear all those people say they wish it was different, that they just want love, real love.

This is a country where the love for money rules everything, including love itself.

  • 12 Januari 2009 - 10:17

    WB:

    Dag nichtje,
    Hoe gaat het met je? Het nieuwe jaar goed ingezet? De beste wensen, veel werk, goede gezondheid en lekkere kerels. Pardon.
    Hier dooit de sneeuw inmiddels rap weg, vanavond ijzel (daarop kan je heel feestelijk uitglijden, voor het geval je dat inmiddels niet meer weet. Omdat het straks minder koud is ga ik even een stukje fietsen. dinsdag even naar je oma in Breda, zal haar je groeten overbrengen.
    Donderdag vogels kijken op de Brouwersdam.
    Vanuit Veghel, kom straks even een kopje koffie drinken, haha
    groeten,
    Uw oom


  • 13 Januari 2009 - 11:19

    Esther:

    Wow Thezzie,
    Weer mooi, maar cynisch gesproken... Tis tijd om terug te komen, vind je niet ;)? Tijd om die rijke vent te scoren, te trouwen en kids te baren ;)

    Tot snel!

    Kusje x

  • 30 Januari 2009 - 15:05

    Ben:

    everything happen in Nigeria.Good or bad is the way life!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nigeria, Suleja

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Februari 2009

Party galore

12 Januari 2009

naked capitalism

19 December 2008

Chopping

01 December 2008

Under the surface

24 November 2008

Abuja Carnival
Thessa

Actief sinds 07 Nov. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 373
Totaal aantal bezoekers 70188

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Oktober 2006 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: