Coping with constant light - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu Coping with constant light - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu

Coping with constant light

Door: Thessa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Thessa

17 September 2008 | Nigeria, Suleja

I have had constant light for over a week now. This has been an absolute first for me in Nigeria, and even though I started off being terribly happy about all the light, by now I realize it is a dangerous situation…
First of all, I’m getting used to the light. I plan my days thinking “I’ll have light tonight” which is a dangerous development. It creates dependency on the most unreliable of factors, just because it seems reliable for now. I don’t carry my phone charger with me anymore, thinking I can simply charge it at home. I let the battery of my laptop go empty without any fear, and buy things that can only stay well in a fridge. Slowly I’m losing my coping mechanisms for when light eventually goes. And eventually it will of course.
Then the second development is that I’m becoming paranoid. I mean, it just can’t be normal that I’ve had light for over a week, so what is going on? Has somebody simply forgotten about the switch for my area? Perhaps my compound is part of a secret science project to study the effect of constant electricity supply on the human brain? Possibly my new neighbour has blackmailed the NEPA officials? Or perhaps it’s the last treat we humans get before Armageddon…
I started off being happy, but this unusual situation has made me a gibbering wreck with only one thought on my mind: when will they take away the light from us again?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nigeria, Suleja

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Februari 2009

Party galore

12 Januari 2009

naked capitalism

19 December 2008

Chopping

01 December 2008

Under the surface

24 November 2008

Abuja Carnival
Thessa

Actief sinds 07 Nov. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 183
Totaal aantal bezoekers 72560

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Oktober 2006 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: