No more a volunteer... - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu No more a volunteer... - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu

No more a volunteer...

Door: Thessa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Thessa

30 Mei 2008 | Nigeria, Suleja

I came to Nigeria as a volunteer to work for charity and to make an attempt at helping a few people. Some 18 months later I didn’t exactly succeed in saving the world or changing the lives or millions (the secret hope of all charity workers?) but I did fall in love with this fascinating country and decided to stay in a “proper” job context.
Life has changed a lot since my volunteer days. Some ways in which I can tell my life has changed:
* My wallet contains more notes of 500 than 5 naira;
* My feet are clean now that I have a car and don’t have to wade through the mud to work;
* I can be really annoyed when there is no NEPA whereas I used to celebrate every second of light as a miracle;
* To some, I have turned into a walking ATM machine;
* I can sleep during the entire night without shouting churches or loud neighbours waking me up;
* Cheese is affordable, as is going to the gym (those two are somehow inter-related);
* I can speak my own language without stuttering now that I practice it every day again;
* I haven’t had malaria and/or typhoid for months now, and
* I can walk more than 3 steps in my own house without bumping into a wall.
I fell in love with Nigeria because of the people, the warm-hearted, resilient, intelligent, loud and funny Nigerians. I also fell in love with “wahala”, the –let me say- challenges of every day life here. Living in Nigeria effectively means an end to boredom ;-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nigeria, Suleja

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Februari 2009

Party galore

12 Januari 2009

naked capitalism

19 December 2008

Chopping

01 December 2008

Under the surface

24 November 2008

Abuja Carnival
Thessa

Actief sinds 07 Nov. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 138
Totaal aantal bezoekers 72576

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Oktober 2006 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: