This thing - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu This thing - Reisverslag uit Suleja, Nigeria van Thessa - WaarBenJij.nu

This thing

Door: Thessa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Thessa

17 Juli 2008 | Nigeria, Suleja

Nigerians are generally intelligent people. That people here can understand each other is probably clear proof of that. After all, a lot of conversations feature the word “thing” and related words. A typical sentence could go like: “please get me this thing that I need for this thing, you know?”. And people actually do know. Being vague in answers is also more than permitted and if I ask someone “where did you go this weekend?” I am not surprised to hear “I went somewhere, for this thing”.
Living in Nigeria has proven to be a mind-cracking game, and in my own case it is worsened by the fact that I don’t speak fluent pidgin, or Hausa. Today I tried to give our gateman instructions for when a friend of mine would come and visit, and before I knew it I was discussing the dustbins on the compound. And I have NO idea how this turn in the discussion came about.
I think next time I’ll tell the gateman he has to do this thing because this person will come at this time, needing this thing. Probably he’ll be able to understand that better…

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nigeria, Suleja

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

04 Februari 2009

Party galore

12 Januari 2009

naked capitalism

19 December 2008

Chopping

01 December 2008

Under the surface

24 November 2008

Abuja Carnival
Thessa

Actief sinds 07 Nov. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 185
Totaal aantal bezoekers 72560

Voorgaande reizen:

06 Oktober 2006 - 30 November -0001

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: